The National Bank Open, formerly Rogers Cup

Tournament History

Stars of WTA Tour return to Toronto for the 2022 National Bank Open presented by Rogers

The National Bank Open presented by Rogers is a prestigious professional tennis tournament owned and operated by Tennis Canada. Since 1881 for the men and 1892 for the women, the best players in the world have showcased their skills on Canadian courts. Only Wimbledon and the US Open have longer histories than this major Canadian stop, which is acknowledged by the tennis world to be one of the best-run tournaments on the professional circuit.

Montreal and Toronto share the task of hosting the best men’s and women’s players in the world, with both tournaments played at the same time during the same week. From August 6-14, 2022, the women will be in Toronto while the men will play in Montreal. Classified as an ATP Masters 1000 event on the ATP Tour calendar and a WTA 1000 event on the women’s tour, the National Bank Open attracts the biggest stars in tennis year after year.

Tournament Directors

Karl Hale – 2007-present
Grant Connell – 2006
Stacey Allaster – 2002-2005
Jane Wynne – 1995-2001
John Beddington – 1979-1994
Don Fontana – 1971-1978

Sign Up For
The National Bank Open Insider